New Category: Letters to My Kids

May 25, 2010 at 3:23 am 3 comments

Dear Children,

I was working on this blog when it occurred to me the amazing adventure I have taken to retrace our family’s history and record these stories you are reading. I know one day you will have questions and want to hear these stories…and this journey will bring us closer as a family.

I thought of the night your cousin Nile, and I, sat in your cousin Dugga’s living room. We huddled together to listen to his stories of the Martin family. He remembered people and events that had been lost until his raspy voice recalled memories, and brought them to life in his stories. I grew up in Minnesota, not knowing of Dugga until I traveled to Selma as an adult. Though years and distance had kept us apart, when I was finally able to meet Dugga, it was as if there was no distance or years apart…the very stories, and connection between family had drawn us together. I know too, this will be for you…

So I am beginning a section of “In Our Hearts” to write letters to you, my precious children. And I hope to create a journal you can look on years from now, and know how much I love you…and know what an incredible family you have!

Love, xoxoxox Mommy xoxoxox

Entry filed under: Letters to My Kids. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Letter to My Kids: Swimming Mt. Everest Happy Memorial Day

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. e.b.  |  May 25, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    I remember ,when i first met you all we were at church and he spoke in the mike , you guy’s stay strong your momma a brave lady with god on her side and she loves both you guy’s unconditional stay safe this summer love ya!

    Reply
    • 2. In Our Hearts  |  May 28, 2010 at 5:48 am

      Sister EB,

      Sending love to you and your beautiful girls!

      Remember the time Pastor Moore was singing at the front of the church… He began to dance then my daughter ran up to the front of the church to dance with him. Pastor Moore held her little hand, about the size of a seas hell, in his big ‘ole hand and danced with her. He was so tall and so big next to her but he was also very gentle with her as she leaped and skipped, all happy.

      We had some good times, and I am so thankful God brought you into my life@->->

      Reply
  • 3. jolene  |  June 1, 2010 at 2:41 am

    hey kids miss u guys hope to see ya soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to follow "In Our Hearts" and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow In Our Hearts: A Family Tribute & Scrapbook on WordPress.com

